Tuesday, July 31, 2007

Quechup disaster!


Back in the office an cleaning my mailbox I ran into an invite for "Quech*p" today. Ah, another social network I think and quickly check it out. One feature is to check who in you address book in in Quetchup, I try it and the system says > no contact present.

The whole thing was not very user friendly so I decide to leave it for what it is. I go back to my mailbox and see about 100 out of office replies ... apparently Quechup sent out invitations to join to my complete Gmail address book :(

THIS IS NOT FUNNY!

KILL QUECHUP FOR THIS (and sorry if you got an invite, I was not meaning to send it.

Update: I'm not alone :(

How to survive the attack of the killer Quechup @ bnox.be
Quechup : NOT what social should be @ Werner.be
Quechup Sucks and violates privacy ! @ x-tend.be
Hold the Quechup @ sparehed.com

13 comments:

Johnny said...

so ... I better NOT accept your invite for quechup then. Don't want to piss off my address book too. ;-)

Pvw said...

you are funny! Never heard of the Plaxo spam before? This sounds like a simular service.

Bert Van Wassenhove said...

Plaxo at least warns you before something is sent. This thing pretends to 'check' whether your contact list is in their database, and then they abuse your list to spam people ... Plaxo does not do that.

Anonymous said...

Hi Bert,

I was recieving your mail, checked it out and sent over 1000 mails in a similar way.

I sent out the following message via my plaxe service and recieved over 200 'thank you' mails.

Cheers,

Frank



Hello (name),

It was not my intention to sent you a mail about Quecup. It seems to be a sort of spammachine/virus, very annoying. See also:
http://blogsearch.google.com/blogsearch?quechup&sourceid=navclient&hl=en
Sorry for this!

Cheers,

Frank

Bert Van Wassenhove said...

I considered sending out an excuse-me mail but thought it would add just an extra mail in the series ... using plaxo for this is a good idea however. Tx.

.david h. said...

ouf.
i did not click on it.
good that i know you and your taste since i went to visit the site later and it sucked big time (layout and concept).
tx for posting your apologizes for the spam ;-)

Geert P. said...

Ja heb er ook zo eentje gehad van jou en minstens 3 of 4 van anderen de afgelopen dagen...

Groet!

Anonymous said...

I decided to do a search on quechup.com and have been amazed at the amount of blogs from various people moaning about Quechup sending invites to all their contacts in address books. I dont know about most people but i read things before i do anything and it clearly states when you check your address book that they are sending invites out to friends that arent on Quechup, and you give them permission to do it. So for all you moaners read next time.

Bert Van Wassenhove said...

No I don't read all the text on all the sites I visit. That's called 'scanning'.

And indeed they say they send something but it's not an obvious warning. Nothing like the RED POPUP when you don't fill in how you got to know Quechup.

Moreover it is 'general practice' with all other social networking sites (Facebook, LinkedIn, ...) to simply check whether these people are in the database and then give you the opportunity to carefully select the people you want to invite.

Who would want to invite all the registration addresses they've sent an e-mail to before, and how about all the support, helpdesk, customer service, etc. addresses?

Don't defend these guys, they are killing a great idea ...

C.C. Chapman said...

This JUST happened to me as well and I have got to say that these guys are dead in the water because you don't do this and survive.

I just blogged about it at http://www.cc-chapman.com/2007/09/01/quechup-just-spammed-my-address-book/

Quechup steals and spams said...

Why would you give them your email password? It boggles my mind? Why would you do that?

Bert Van Wassenhove said...

Giving your email password is standard practice at many social networking sites. But next time I'll check the credentials of the site asking a bit more profoundly.

... ah if we only had OpenID (or something of the likes) ....

logo designer said...

I had a bunch of invite e-mails this autumn from people whom I could never suspect to invite me to such network.
So, now the mystery is solved.
I wonder did they thought about consequences and community reaction to this dirty trick?